Help wanted!

Chew the fat on any non-RC subject. It's a free-for-all but common rules of decency do apply so act like adults and don't embarrass yourself by trolling or cuss'n.

Help wanted!

Postby dean6553 » Mon May 06, 2013 7:13 pm

Hi everyone, I have just found this fantastic website so am a complete newbie!

My son flies RC gliders and I am just the taxi service to and from the hill so I know very little at the moment!

My first question relates to telemetry. I am a teacher at a secondary school and am just starting a club for students to design, build, test and race a single- seat electric race car against other schools in the UK. Please visit www.greenpower.co.uk for more information. We would like to build and install a simple telemetry device to transmit the current and voltage plus the temperature of the motor back to the pit crew. Any advice about how we go about doing this, together with suggested equipment and suppliers would be very much appreciated.

Kind regards

Dean
dean6553

Re: Help wanted!

Postby cynr100 » Mon May 06, 2013 8:30 pm

High Dean,
Rather than go into a long winded ramble check this out

http://www.alofthobbies.com/telemetry-m ... splay.html

They are a good reliable firm in the US, I buy all my radio gear here and only takes 5 days to Australia. The product is one of the best around and is adaptable to any JR or Futaba module transmitter.
Cheers Dennis
Not enough time in the day for all my crazy ideas, I'm not slow, I'm just pacing myself
cynr100

Postby dean6553 » Mon May 06, 2013 9:01 pm

Thanks Dennis, much appreciated, is there a system which does not need an rc transmitter? Alternatively, I do have some Guyana transmitters but they are all 35KHz, do they work with this system? Sorry to ask so many questions.
Regards
Dean
dean6553

Postby cynr100 » Tue May 07, 2013 1:42 am

All the FrSky gear operates on 2.4gHz, I'm not aware of any system that operates "oneway".