AXN Excessive Climb Under Power

If you didn't have to build it then you can talk about it here.

AXN Excessive Climb Under Power

Postby Glen J » Tue Aug 13, 2013 2:38 am

I am a relative newbie and thoroughly enjoy flying the AXN (my second). But I am really bothered
by the fact that the plane persistently wants to climb when I add power. Being a newbie
I mostly enjoy just launching, cruising around and floating to a landing (in a grass field).

Today, I got downwind and needed a lot of power to get the plane to come back. But with around 75 %
power, I found that I had almost full nose-down trim to keep the nose down.

I am using a 3S 1800 mah battery pushed fully forward into the nose.

I tried using a mix on my DX6i to force in nose down trim when adding power. But, then,
when I chop the power the nose pitches up sharply (no surprise there) and I sometimes stall.

Strangely, regardless of the trim setting, the plane always seem to glide beautifully (often, too beautifully,
well past my intended landing spot).

I know that any plane should climb when its airspeed increases (other things remaining unchanged).
But I have not experienced this dramatic climbing tendency with a couple of other planes (RCPowers foamies and Blu-Babies)

Any suggestions?

Thanks in advance.
Glen J

Re: AXN Excessive Climb Under Power

Postby AshleyB32 » Tue Aug 13, 2013 3:28 am

you may need more weight in the front especially if your flying in windy conditions, i fly mine with a 2200lipol and it balances the plane correctly & sounds like you may also need to increase the throws on you elevator if your unable to correct climbing at high power going into a head wind
AshleyB32

Postby cynr100 » Tue Aug 13, 2013 5:25 am

Recheck your COG, from memory this is located right on the wing spar. the AXN is better suited with a 2200mAh.
The natural tendency for the AXN is to nose down when given full power until airflow is increased over the wing.